Busy last days - Reisverslag uit Kaapstad, Zuid-Afrika van Bao-Nhi Vu - WaarBenJij.nu Busy last days - Reisverslag uit Kaapstad, Zuid-Afrika van Bao-Nhi Vu - WaarBenJij.nu

Busy last days

Door: Bao-Nhi

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Bao-Nhi

15 Augustus 2008 | Zuid-Afrika, Kaapstad

Just when I’m about to leave, I start doing lots and lots of fun and interesting things. I’m not saying that I’ve done nothing during my previous seven months in Cape Town, but because of the time pressure, I kind of have to make myself do all the things that I do now quickly.

I spent the last weekend in Belhar, a coloured suburb in Cape Town. I had a sleepover at Emelio’s house. He was in Durban to perform with Plush so this was the perfect opportunity for me to spend time with Claudine and Carla-Ann (his wife and daughter). I HAD A BLAST! Oh my word, it was such a great time. Claudine is the youngest of a lot of siblings, just like me. Our life paths have a lot of similarities… which made it so easy for me to talk with her about life and stuff.
I also spend a lot of time with her three sisters. They remind me of my sisters, but you can see that the ‘coloured-blood’ is way louder and more active that the ‘asian-blood’. I can truly see that they are close, which is pretty cool to see.

Last Monday Emelio took the new volunteers out for the ‘Cape Town tour’. Since I didn’t get this tour when I first arrived, I went and tagged along. It was very interesting for me. I think it’s good that I went now, because I’ve been in Cape Town for while and seeing the museums that show the history of it’s country now makes me realise more what did happened in the past.

I’ve also enjoyed spending time with the new volunteers. They are all nineteen years old and from Germany. I didn’t expect to connect with them, because I’m already checking out to go home, but somehow I did. I feel more at ease to leave now, because I’m able to hand over my project to Benjamin and Edith who will take over my programme at the SOS Children’s Village. They have been truly great, so I trust that they will carry on and develop what I’ve started.

Yesterday I took Melany, Hadley, Manfred and Gabe to Moyo’s. This is an African restaurant that’s a little fancier. Tourists come here to get ‘the African experience’. The food was GREAT and the African entertainment was entertaining. :-) Gabe and I have been here before at the beginning of our journey, but we wanted to go again before we leave South Africa. Taking the three of them with us was so much fun.

I had to pick up Melany, Hadley and Manfred in Kylemore. That was probably my last time there (not sure yet though, I might come back next weekend) so I had to say goodbye to some of the kids who I’ve connected with. It wasn’t easy to see them so sad, but this also means that we truly connected. There just such great kids!

This weekend is going to be filled with lots of fun as well. I have a sleepover with Tenille, Rolf’s daughter and I’m spending time with people that I’ve met here.

Yep, I’ve got lot’s of fun things to do in these last eleven days… so don’t you guys worry about me!

Lots of love,
Bao-Nhi

  • 17 Augustus 2008 - 17:26

    Arjan:

    sweet

  • 18 Augustus 2008 - 08:03

    Petri:

    Hee Bao-Nhi,

    ongelofelijk dat je tijd in Zuid-Afrika er alweer bijna op zit... ik heb niet altijd je blogs gelezen maar volgens mij heb je het prima naar je zin gehad :)

    En dan moet je weer terug naar Nederland... waar de zomer zoals gewoonlijk veel op de herfst lijkt en de sporters op de Olympische Spelen ons teleurstellen ;-)

    Met mij gaat het hartstikke goed! We hebben een prachtige bruiloft gehad, heerlijke huwelijksreis en met de zwangerschap gaat ook alles prima. Ik mag niet klagen :)

    Heel veel plezier de laatste dagen en alvast veel succes met de terugreis en het wennen in Nederland.

    Liefs, petri

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Zuid-Afrika, Kaapstad

Mijn eerste reis

Recente Reisverslagen:

31 Augustus 2008

Goodbye Cape Town… Hello Utrecht

22 Augustus 2008

How to say goodbye...

15 Augustus 2008

Busy last days

07 Augustus 2008

Turning in to an office clerk…

25 Juli 2008

Even the colour of your passport matters
Bao-Nhi

Actief sinds 21 Dec. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 402
Totaal aantal bezoekers 24963

Voorgaande reizen:

30 November -0001 - 30 November -0001

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: