Even the colour of your passport matters - Reisverslag uit Kaapstad, Zuid-Afrika van Bao-Nhi Vu - WaarBenJij.nu Even the colour of your passport matters - Reisverslag uit Kaapstad, Zuid-Afrika van Bao-Nhi Vu - WaarBenJij.nu

Even the colour of your passport matters

Door: Bao-Nhi

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Bao-Nhi

25 Juli 2008 | Zuid-Afrika, Kaapstad

I know that I’ve just bombarded everybody with a long blog about Robben Island yesterday, but something else has happened that I really need to share with you guys.

Have you ever stopped and think about you passport? It is a simple document that actually determents your right to enter another country or it makes sure that you stay out of a country. A couple of months ago Emelio, my project manager, pointed out to me how lucky I am to have a European passport. Because I have a Dutch passport, doors to other countries are practically wide open for me. I’ve always known that I’m very blessed to have a Dutch passport. If I was born in Vietnam with a Vietnamese passport, my life wouldn’t be as it is now. Just because I was born in the Netherlands, I’ve been given more chances and opportunities in life. It might not be fair, but it is a fact.
The reason why Emelio and I had a chat about this matter is because he travels a lot with his band Plush (and his other band JacSharp). Emelio is South African, so he has a South African passport. He has no problems flying domestic, but whenever he flies overseas to Europe or the States he has to fill in tons of paperwork and gather the right documents to be able to enter a country overseas. REDICULOUS!

Emelio left for London last Wednesday, because Plush is performing at the Carling Academy Islington tonight. I was supposed to spend time with his wife Claudine this weekend since he’s in Europe. Claudine called me yesterday evening with the news that Emelio and Carl (the guitarist of Plush) are being deported back to South Africa. I DON’T get it at all! Apparently their paperwork wasn’t in order, which is strange, since Rory and Ben (the other two band members) are allowed to enter England. AND Emelio and Carl just got back from Germany a couple of weeks ago; the paperwork was all fine then.
Emelio and Carl are probably on the airplane at the moment, because they will arrive in Cape Town tonight. My heart truly goes out to them and Rory and Ben… Claudine told me that Rory and Ben will pursue the concert with the two of them, but it won’t be the same of course. Do me a favour; keep these men, their families and their fans in your thoughts, ‘cause this can’t be easy for any of them… thanks!

Last Friday during staff meeting Rolf (who has been promoted and is the National Director of YFC South Africa now) asked us if it is true that bad things always happen to good people. Gabe responded by saying that there are no good or bad people. We are all sinners and I agree with him. It still doesn’t make me understand why some people seem to suffer more than others. I don’t question my Lord about anything what is going on in my life or in the lives of others around me. His intention is NOT to make us suffer on earth; His promise is that we will get to a better life after this earth. I know all this, but I live on this earth now and I’m trying really hard to understand what is going on… but I just can’t seem to find any reason in all of this. I just trust that my Lord has a better plan for me and the people that I love, than the plan that we’ve set out for ourselves.

My plan to spend time with Claudine and Carla-Ann has obviously been cancelled. I had the feeling that this was going to happen. I was too excited about this weekend and whenever I get excited about something, most of the times it doesn’t happen. That’s life I guess… I just hope that Emelio and the other lads will get past this easily. And for me; I’ll find another way to recharge myself for my last couple of weeks in Cape Town.

Lots of love,
Bao-Nhi

  • 25 Juli 2008 - 11:15

    Carla H:

    Er zijn meer vragen dan antwoorden. En dan nog als wij menen wijs te zijn en het juiste antwoord denken te hebben, komt een nieuwe vraag: Is dit het juiste antwoord? Niet de onzekerheid van het juiste antwoord altijd op de juiste tijd te hebben geeft ons perspectief voor de toekomst, maar de zekerheid dat Christus in ons leeft en het doel van onze levensreis tot het hoogste doel van DIT leven wil brengen. Dat antwoord, ja het roept vele vragen op, maar dat is het enige antwoord dat richting geeft voor de koers van het antwoord waar we naar op zoek zijn.
    Jouw vragen zijn ook mijn vragen. En 'Wat versta je onder: het antwoord?' Dat is de volgende vraag. Blijft: Een dwaas kan meer vragen dan vele wijzen kunnen beantwoorden.

  • 25 Juli 2008 - 15:20

    Opperboer:

    Heej Titi, Leuke verhalen allemaal!!!
    Denk je nog aan een voetbal shirt van een plaatselijke voetbalclub voor mij???

    Greetings Marco.

  • 28 Juli 2008 - 18:03

    Arjan:

    One world, once another one.

    Greetz from Port Alfred (kwak :)

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Zuid-Afrika, Kaapstad

Mijn eerste reis

Recente Reisverslagen:

31 Augustus 2008

Goodbye Cape Town… Hello Utrecht

22 Augustus 2008

How to say goodbye...

15 Augustus 2008

Busy last days

07 Augustus 2008

Turning in to an office clerk…

25 Juli 2008

Even the colour of your passport matters
Bao-Nhi

Actief sinds 21 Dec. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 610
Totaal aantal bezoekers 24965

Voorgaande reizen:

30 November -0001 - 30 November -0001

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: